Tags

, , , , , , , ,

First off, I apologize for being absent lately. You see, my boyfriend and I moved to Los Angeles last week so life has been a little, well, crazy.

And our food stores have been reduced to rather meager offerings. Mainly spices and easy-to-transport dry goods.

We’ve been eating a lot of Subway this last week. I love $5 Footlong Month.

Pumpkin Alfredo

Anyway, I got it together enough to cook a quick meal for myself tonight: sauteed veggies with pumpkin Alfredo sauce (strangely enough, canned pumpkin is an absolute necessity in my kitchen, along with apples). I don’t have much to say about this dish except that I was rather proud of the way it turned out so I decided to share it with you.

I know it’s not an authentic Alfredo sauce and it doesn’t even look too pretty, but, trust me, this sauce is delicious. Sweet pumpkin and creamy, hearty Alfredo are a perfect match, especially with a hearty dash of nutmeg and red pepper.

I know it doesn’t seem like a necessary ingredient but do not skip the worcestershire sauce! I was surprised how it really made the flavors pop.

Also, worcestershire sauce is the pain in the ass to spell.

So once again, I apologize for my absent behavior and this short post, but I hope this quick and easy Alfredo sauce holds you over for a bit!

Pumpkin Alfredo

I promise I will be back soon, ready to rock in my awesome new kitchen (I finally have a gas stove!!).

Pumpkin Alfredo Sauce

Makes 1-2 servings

Ingredients *NOTE*

  • 2/3 cup low-fat milk
  • 1 1/2 Tb dried onion
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch red pepper
  • Pinch nutmeg
  • 1 Tb cornstarch, mixed in 2-3 Tb water
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Whisk milk with onion, garlic, paprika, cinnamon, pepper, and nutmeg in a small sauce pan. Heat over medium-high heat until milk begins to boil. Turn down heat to low.
  2. Whisk in dissolved cornstarch. Stir until slightly thickened.
  3. Stir in pumpkin and worcestershire sauce. Whisk until smooth.
  4. Whisk in parmesan, salt and pepper. Whisk until smooth.
  5. Serve over pasta or sauteed vegetables.

*NOTE* All of these measurements are approximate. My style of cooking is very much “Just eyeball it”. So don’t be afraid to add more or less of anything. Except the worchestershire. Don’t skip the worchestershire.