I should maybe change the name of my blog from “The ‘Lush’ious Baker” to “Baking with Leftover Stuff I Find in My Kitchen”.

I’ve done lots of recipes with leftover beer, leftover wine, leftover beer, leftover bananas, leftover beer, leftover pumpkin, leftover beer….what else are you supposed to do with good-quality, yet sadly flat, day-old beer?

Donut Bread Pudding 3

This time it’s donuts. Donut Bread Pudding that is. And what goes better with donuts than Coffee? Oh, right, Whiskey spiked coffee.

This, for once, is not going to be a long post.

The effort that I put in to the mental development of this recipe was, well, very little.

My man brought home a few donuts from a work meeting and I pretty much instantly thought of making a bread pudding from them.

Donut Bread Pudding 2

Personally, I’m not much of donut fan. Something about the deep-fried, dense cake-dough, covered in sickly-sweet icing just does not appeal to me. I’ll admit, I do have a soft spot for a fluffy, yeast-risen malasada (a Portuguese/Hawaiian donut that’s not too sweet). Yea, oddly enough, I hate most fluffy desserts, except donuts, the quintessential non-fluffy dessert.

I also keep writing fluff-ly. I like that word. Fluff-ly. :)

Back to the donut bread pudding. So I’m not a big donut fan, but I love a good culinary adventure and repurposing ingredients (Chopped, anyone?).

Donut Bread Pudding

I used very little sugar in the bread pudding, as the donuts would supply plenty of their own sugar. Additionally, as the bread pudding base was so sweet, I decided to add a savory element to the icing. What better to pair with a donut than coffee?

You called it: coffee and whiskey.

I think I’ll keep the ‘Lush’ious Baker title afterall.

Donut Bread Pudding (adapted from Michael Chiarello’s Donut Bread Pudding)

Makes 5 individual bread puddings

  • 3 leftover cake donuts, cut in 1” pieces
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 3 Tb whiskey
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Whisk milk, egg, sugar and whiskey together. Combine donuts and milk mixture until donut pieces are just coated. Let sit for 10 minutes or until milk is soaked up.
  3. Spoon in to a buttered muffin tin, filling the cups to the top.
  4. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a tester toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Let cool 5-10 minutes, run a knife around the edge of the muffin tin cup to loosen before removing bread pudding. Drizzle with coffee-whiskey glaze.

Coffee-Whiskey Glaze

  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 Tb whiskey
  • 2 Tb extra strong coffee or espresso (I even used some of the coffee grounds)
  1. Whisk sugar, whiskey and coffee together until smooth. Drizzle over cooled bread pudding
