Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I don’t like wasting good beer.

To be honest, I am pretty loathe to wasting any food and, usually, I’m pretty decent at repurposing leftovers in to new dishes.

Stout Apple Bars

However, sometimes I shove some leftover whatever in to my fridge, intending to work it in to another meal, and then ignore it until it turns green and fuzzy at which point I am forced to toss it in the trash. But, when faced with a nearly full but flat bottle of Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout, I had a plan.

That’s a total lie. I had a plan to bake with it, but had no idea what the end product would be. I pretty much tossed a bunch of ingredients together until I ended up, somehow, with these awesome Stout Apple Oat Bars.

So far I’m not selling these apple bars too well am I? “Yea I just dumped random things in a bowl, shoved it in the oven, and voila!”

You might be thinking…is that even safe to eat?

Yes, yes, they are very safe to eat. Well, safe to eat in the food-sanitation sense. Safe for your waistline? Well…maybe not so much.

Stout Apple Bars 2

They may sound semi-healthy (you know, with the oats and apples and stuff), but don’t be fooled. These puppies (maybe not the best descriptor) are based off of my favorite blondie recipe so they are rich in butter and sugar, not to mention the bottle of heavy-hitting beer that I tossed in.

Yes, you caught me, it’s the same blondie recipe that I used in my last post. But, trust me, this variation is an entirely different beast. The texture of this bar is somewhere between a blondie and a soft oatmeal cookie with flecks of crunchy apple. The beer I used, Old Rasputin, is an intense stout with rich, coffee and chocolate notes that pairs well with the sweet fruit and warm winter-y spices.

Hope you enjoy my off-the-cuff dessert bars :).

Stout Apple Oat Bars (once again adapted from Infinitely Adaptable Blondies)

Makes 12 (thick, 2 x 2 inch squares)

  • 12 ounces dark beer, stout is best but porter will work as well
  • 8 Tb (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • 1 tsp clove
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 medium apple, diced
  1. Butter an 8×8 pan.
  2. Cook beer in a small saucepan over medium high heat until reduced to 1/4 cup in volume. Let cool
  3. Beat melted butter, brown sugar, and reduced beer until smooth.
  4. Beat in egg and vanilla.
  5. In a separate bowl, mix flour, cinnamon, allspice, clove, and salt.
  6. Stir flour mixture in to the wet ingredients until just barely incorporated.
  7. Fold in rolled oats and diced apple.
  8. Pour into prepared pan. Bake at 350F 30-35 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool on rack before cutting them.
