I baked a loaf of real, yeast-leavened bread for the first time! Rustic Rosemary and Garlic Bread!

No Knead BreadI have a confession to make.

I am was scared of working with yeast.

Well, baking with yeast that is. I work in a lab that uses yeast as a model organism, so I technically work with yeast every day.

But baking with yeast utterly terrified me. Far too many variables. How long should I let the dough rise? How much should I knead the dough? How do I adjust the flour? What happens if my dough doesn’t rise? How the hell do I get this sticky stuff off my fingers??

But a few months ago, I had a request from a friend: “Could you do a video for an oven-bread? And I’m talking sourdough/fancy-flakey shit.”

Uh…no.

Well, first off, I’m terribly awkward in person.

Like, super weird. I’m that odd girl that you see hovering around the food/drink table of every party because she has nothing to say and uses food as an excuse not to talk, or, at the very least, a conversation starter.

So…probably won’t be doing any video recipes any time soon.

And sourdough/ fancy flakey shit. Well, I sort of failed at this request too. The bread I made is dense, chewy, glutinous, and maybe a tad gluttonous as well. The crust is thick and crispy and gives a satisfying crunch when you cut in to the bread.

No Knead Bread 3

Most importantly, it’s super easy.

The easiest recipe I could find.

I figured I would start simple. I searched for the least “terrifying” recipe possible. I was pleased to find that there are, in fact, a plethora of these No-Knead Bread recipes online. They all vary slightly in amount of yeast added and rising time. However, they all have the two key properties I was looking for in a novice bread recipe: they don’t require kneading and they are immensely forgiving.

I eventually settled on this recipe. I realize that it’s supposed to be “no knead” but my dough looked too wet and sticky so I actually added a bit more flour after the rising period and kneaded the dough for about a minute. It still looked a bit wet. I had my doubts. But I forged ahead and shoved it in the oven.

Fresh out of the oven
Fresh out of the oven

And was rewarded with amazing bread. No experience needed. Seriously, if you, like me, are yeast-o-phobic in the kitchen, try this recipe. It will change your mind about yeast-leavened breads forever.

Almost No-Knead Rosemary and Garlic Bread (Adapted from No-Knead Crusty Artisan Bread)

Makes 1 large, round loaf of bread

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp instant yeast
  • 1 Tb rosemary
  • 2-3 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups warm water
  • Olive oil for brushing

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, yeast, rosemary, garlic and salt. Add the water and stir until the mixture resembles a shaggy dough.
  2. Cover dough with a plastic wrap and let sit in room temperature for 8-24 hours. Dough will double in size. Longer is better!
  3. After dough has risen, preheat oven to 450 F.
  4. Turn the dough onto a well-floured surface. With well floured hands, fold the dough on to it self several times. After each fold, push the dough down with the heel of your hand. Add more flour if the dough seems sticky.
  5. Form dough into a ball. Cover with plastic wrap and let dough rest while the oven preheats.
  6. Put a dutch oven (I use a 5 qt) into the preheated oven for 30 minutes.
  7. After the 30 minutes are up carefully remove the dutch oven and with floured hands place the bread dough into it.
  8. Brush lightly with olive oil
  9. Cover dutch oven and bake for 30 minutes covered.
  10. Remove the cover and bake for an additional 15 minutes uncovered until bread is golden brown and crispy.
  11. The crust is crispy directly out of the oven, but tends to soften up over time. If you do not immediately serve the bread, you can re-crisp the crust in an 350 F degree oven for 10 minutes.
