Tags

, , , , , , ,

I know it may not seem like it, but I really do try my best to post at least once a week. I thought it was a reasonable goal to self for myself. Clearly, I was wrong :/.

It’s been over a week and a half since I last posted. So to make up for it, I made you cookies :). Rooibos cookies with white chocolate and dried cranberries. 

Rooibos Cookies 2

Of course, this is a baking blog so I suppose you would expect me to make you cookies from time to time.

These cookies are simply a version of your every-day chocolate chip cookie. A version involving flavors you might not expect in a cookie. Namely rooibos: an African herbal red tea that lends this cookie a hint of citrus and spice perfect for the fall weather.

To be honest, I’ve been a bit hesitant to make chocolate chip cookies. Lately it seems that every batch of chewy drop cookies I attempt to make turn out horribly flat and unappealing. In some cases they’ve turned out so flat that I can’t even pick them up without them falling apart in my hands.

Rooibos Cookies 3

But after some research I think I figured out the problem. First, of course, was the recipe. After spending a few hours searching for the perfect chewy chocolate chip cookie recipe, I finally settled on America’s Test Kitchen’s Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies. The key to this recipe is the browned butter. Most recipes call for softened butter and, I don’t know about you, but I seem to have a hellish time finding that Goldilocks degree of softness. Too cold and I can’t cream the butter and sugar; too warm and I have yet another batch of pancake cookies. ATK gets rid of that problem all together by adapting the recipe for melted butter.

The second problem, quite unfortunately, is my cookie sheets. Many of my kitchen utensils are hand-me-downs from my mom so there’s a good chance my cookie sheets are older than I am. They are worn down, too thin, and slightly warped. It’s an element that I never quite thought about, but after listening to ATK’s podcast, I learned that if your cookie sheets are too thin, your cookies might turn out the same. I didn’t want to rush out and buy new pans so I improvised and used the underside of my new 9×13 baking pan. They turned out a tad flat, but still lightyears better than my last attempt.

Rooibos Cookies

So enjoy these cookies, and if you, like me, have had problems with flat cookies, I recommend taking a look at your pans. They may just be the culprit preventing you from the perfect cookie.

Rooibos Cookies with White Chocolate and Dried Cranberries (adapted from ATK’s Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies)

Makes 16 jumbo cookies or 24 normal-ish cookies

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3 Tb rooibus tea leaves, divided
  • 14 Tb unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 to 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries, coarsely chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, bakind soda, and 2 tablespoons rooibus tea leaves. Set aside.
  3. In a small saucepan, melt 10 tablespoons butter over medium high heat.
  4. Add remaining tea leaves and continue to cook, swirling constantly for 3-5 minutes until butter is golden brown and has a nutty aroma.
  5. Transfer melted butter to a large bowl and whisk in remaining butter until melted.
  6. Add brown sugar, white sugar, salt and vanilla to melted butter and whisk until incorporated.
  7. Add egg and egg yolks and whisk until smooth, about 30 seconds. Let rest a few minutes and whisk again. Repeat 2 more times until mixture is thick and smooth.
  8. Fold in flour mixture until just combined. Stir in white chocolate and cranberries.
  9. Scoop dough by 2-3 tablespoon balls and place on to parchment-lined pans, 2 inches apart.
  10. Bake in preheated oven, 1 sheet at a time, 10-14 minutes, rotating baking sheet halfway through. Let cool completely.

P.S. Look at the awesome shirt my man got me!!!

image-5

And the back:

Tee Back

