Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I know I know I know I’m late.

I’m late! I’m late! I’m late for a very important date!

Chocolate Sin Torte

I’m late for yet another blog post. This should have gone up last week when I made this flourless chocolate cake but I got slightly distracted by a little thing I like to call DISNEYLAND!!!

Let me back up. Last week my man celebrated his 25th birthday. Kind of a big deal. So we celebrated with a wonderful meal at a little French bistro and a good bottle of wine (I ate escargot for the first time!). As far as gifts go, I gave him Football Manager 13 (a soccer themed video game), a Manchester United flag (can you tell he’s a soccer fan?), and a stuffed animal dog that he promptly named Nutmeg (my boyfriend is a dork; one of the many reasons I love him). And, of course I used his birthday as a good excuse to bake a sinful, decadent, chocolatey, buttery, delicious dessert fit for even the most extreme chocoholic, otherwise known as my boyfriend.

Enter Chocolate Sin Torte. A flourless chocolate cake with over a pound of chocolate.

image-5

I have to admit, this isn’t my recipe. It comes from Williams-Sonoma cookbook appropriately titled Desserts. I first made this torte about 6 or 7 years ago when I first received the book and I was absolutely thrilled that it turned out exactly like the picture.
I mean, really, how often does that happen?

Seriously this cake is awesome. 10 ounces of bittersweet chocolate in the cake then topped with a ganache made with 8 more ounces of chocolate. And, I don’t know about you, but I always tend to be a bit heavy handed with chocolate.

Once again, the cake looked beautiful and, more importantly, tasted delicious. I think my man liked it. What do you think?

Chocolate Sin Torte 2

Okay, so where does Disneyland come in? Well, funny enough, my man and I have birthdays only 2 days apart. It’s actually quite convenient as we get to celebrate together. So what did we do? We went to Disneyland! 

1380496_10151778952131284_421714885_n

Oh and what did he get me for my birthday? Only one of the most awesome gifts I have ever received: this absolutely beautiful gi.

Gi

A gi is very similar to a kimono but made for Brazilian jiu jitsu. I’ve mentioned briefly in the past that I practice BJJ but I may not have made it clear just how important this sport is to me. Not many people understand this and I am infinitely grateful that my boyfriend supports me so much. He comes to every tournament and encourages me every step of the way. And so every time I wear this gi I feel his love and support as I practice.

So here is the recipe for the delicious cake I made for the most wonderful boyfriend I can ask for on his quarter-century birthday. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. I may have even eaten this for breakfast on my birthday. Oh who am I kidding, I ate this for breakfast until the cake was gone…

Chocolate Sin Torte (recipe from Williams-Sonoma Collection: Dessert)

Makes one 8 or 9-inch torte, approx. 10 servings

  • Unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 cups bittersweet chocolate chips (60% cocoa)
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 Tb dark rum
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 2 Tb white sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 300F. Butter an 8 or 9 inch cake pan then dust with unsweetened cocoa powder.
  2. In a large glass bowl, combine chocolate chips and unsalted butter. Fill a saucepan half full of water and heat until barely simmering. Set bowl over water and mix until chocolate and butter are melted and smooth. Remove from heat and let cool.
  3. In a large bowl, mix egg yolks, 1/4 cup sugar, rum, vanilla and salt with an electric mixer on medium-high speed until mixture is pale and thick.
  4. Gradually pour cooled chocolate mixture in to egg yolks and beat until blended.
  5. In another large bowl, beat egg whites and 2 tablespoons sugar on medium-high until foamy. Increase speed to high and continue to beat until egg whites form semi-firm peaks.
  6. Fold egg whites in to chocolate and egg yolk mixture. Continue to gently fold until no white streaks remain.
  7. Pour batter in to prepared pan and bake at 300F for 30 minutes. A test toothpick will come out moist but not wet.
  8. Let cake cool in pan 30 minutes. Gently remove cake from pan by running a pairing knife around the edges and inverting the cake on to a flat plate. Refrigerate at least 4 hours.
  9. Once cake is completely cool, glaze cake with chocolate ganache and then refrigerate until firm, at least 2 hours.

Chocolate Ganache

  • 1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 Tb light corn syrup (not necessary but gives it a pretty shine)
  1. In a large glass bowl, combine chocolate chips and unsalted butter. Fill a saucepan half full of water and heat until barely simmering. Set bowl over water and mix until chocolate and butter are melted and smooth.
  2. Remove from heat and whisk in corn syrup.
  3. Pour warm ganache in to center of cooled cake. With a knife or soft spatula, push glaze out to the edges of the cake so ganache spills over the sides.
