Tags

, , , , , , ,

You should make these muffins tonight.

In fact you should make them right now.

Seriously, look in your pantry/fridge. If you have ever baked, chances you have most, if not all, of these ingredients right now: flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, butter, beer, done. 

Beer Bread 2

These beer bread muffins are stupidly simple. Essentially you take all of the ingredients, mix them in a single bowl, toss in some extras, scoop the batter in to a muffin tin, bake and voilá, you’ve got muffins. It’s the much underrated sequel to You’ve Got Mail. Sadly Tom Hanks was already tied up in another contract so he couldn’t be casted as the lead.

Crickets? Yeah, I figured as much. That’s usually the response to my piss-poor jokes :/. Anyways…

This is one of my recipes in my growing repertoire of go-to, last minute recipes. If there is anything I have learned in grad school so far, it is “always bring food“. Lab meetings, committee meetings, class presentations, any gathering you can think of. Bring food. Trust me it never hurts.

Beer Bread

In this case it was a class presentation. You see, teaching is one of the requirements of almost any PhD program, and, while most schools just sort of throw their TA’s to the dogs and tell them to learn as they go, UCLA makes their grad students take a class on teaching.

It’s obnoxious.

I know, I know, I really shouldn’t complain about this class. It’s good for me; it’s good for my students. Hell I remember how terrible some of my TA’s were in college. I certainly wish that they had some more training. I’d rather not be them.

Besides, it has its moments. Getting back to my original point, this past week, we each gave a mini-lecture as a teaching experience. As in a five-minute presentation about absolutely anything we wanted to.

So, being the foodie freaks that we are, my man and I gave cooking demonstrations. He gave a quick talk on how to make a juicy, flavorful steak cooked to a perfect medium-rare (he may do a guest post soon). I described how to make these beer bread muffins from start to finish. In. Five. Minutes. Yep, that’s all it takes.

Beer Bread 3

Do it. Make these right now. Five minutes of work, twenty five minutes in the oven and that’s all you need to make some moist, hearty, delicious muffins.

Oh I almost forgot to mention! These muffins are also endlessly adaptable. I chose to go the savory route with some Muenster cheese and cooked, crumbled sausage. But you could up the sugar by another 1/4 cup and toss in some dried fruit and nuts or chocolate chips to go for a sweet treat. Whatever route you choose, you really can’t go wrong with these muffins.

One Bowl Beer Bread Muffins (adapted from Beer Bread Muffins)

Ingredients

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 Tb baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 12-ounce bottle of light-colored beer *NOTE*
  • 1/4 butter, melted
  • Mix-ins, up to 2 cups *NOTE*
    • 3/4 cup shredded cheese (I used Muenster)
    • 1/2 cup Italian sausage, cooked and crumbled in to small pieces
  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease a 12-cup muffin tin.
  2. In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.
  3. Mix in beer. The batter will bubble quite a bit.
  4. Mix in butter and any mix-ins.
  5. Scoop in to greased muffin cups, 3/4 full.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

*NOTES*

  • When I say “light-colored beer”, I mean a light-colored beer, not a light beer. If you use Bud Light, your muffins will taste like Bud Light and no one wants that. You could probably use a dark beer like Guinness if you opt to go the sweet route.
  • The mix-ins can be pretty much any dry ingredient your creative little heart desires: cheese, bacon, sausage, fruit, nuts, chocolate, candy. But, I don’t recommend using more than a total of 2 cups or you will start to lose the integrity of your muffins.
