Tags

, , , , , , ,

This post is going to be a little different. I don’t want to talk about food.

Oh don’t worry, I promised you a recipe. So there is most certainly a recipe at the end of this post. It’s the most stupidly simply candy recipe that I have ever stumbled upon (seriously, I think I found this on StumbleUpon).

Maple Bourbon Seafoam

Honeycomb candy, also known as seafoam candy, is an easy recipe that requires fewer than 5 ingredients and comes together in less than 10 minutes. As long as you have a candy thermometer, you good to go. In my version, I exchanged the honey for maple syrup and added a few tablespoons of bourbon whiskey (you know I had to).

But what I actually wanted to write about today was hobbies, or more specifically, enjoying your hobbies.

Have any of you had a hobby or participated in a sport or another activity that you started out loving, no, adoring, but then felt that passion wane after time?

What about feel so stressed about finding time for said activity in to their lives that it begins to affect the important things in your life?

Suddenly it’s not so fun anymore.

That’s how I have felt about my Brazilian jiu jitsu lately.

Now any sane person might say “Well just take a break. Just take a few months off until you want to go back”. It’s not so simple. First of all, I’m a little insane, especially about (but not limited to) my workout routines. I feel incredibly guilty for any practice I miss, even when I probably need a break. If you have ever been involved in a highly competitive sport (or I’d imagine any competitive activity), you probably understand the guilt I feel. Hell, if you’re an avid amateur blogger, I’m sure you’ve felt the pressure to keep up the work, even when nothing really depends on you cranking out that next post.

If you happen to know anyone in the BJJ community, you will probably realize that pretty much every one is a bit insane. I have yet to meet a single person that encourages time off. Almost every person I have met is unceasingly gung-ho about the sport. Their passion does not seem to ever waver.

Maple Bourbon Seafoam

A random picture of my candy recipe. Just in case you, like me, rarely read blog text.

Secondly, I find it even harder to take a break when I know I will be forced in to a long break some time next week. I recently found out that I will need surgery some time in the not-so-distant future that will heavily restrict my exercise capabilities (don’t worry, it’s nothing too serious, just some joint issues that I need to get taken care of while I’m still young). So knowing that I will be forced to take time off makes me feel even more guilty about missing time.

But, then I ask myself, what’s the point if I don’t enjoy the sport? I’m not saying that I want to quit. I know that I still love the sport. But I do wonder if I should pull myself back a bit while I do still love the sport.

So I’m making an early New Year’s Resolution. I promise myself that I will (try my best) to not stress about my hobbies. Not jiu jitsu, not my blog, not my cooking. In the end they are hobbies. They may define parts of my life but they are not my entire life. I need to stop worrying about these things so much so I can start enjoying them. I need to stop stressing about small things so I can focus on the important things in my life.

So there’s my confession. I don’t enjoy BJJ like I once did, but I hope to rediscover the passion I once had. But I don’t think I can force the issue. I think it’s time to just step back and live my life for a bit.

I apologize for this departure from food in to the worries of my own life, but why write a blog if you can’t write about what you want?

So thank you for reading, and I hope that if you, like me, stress about the extraneous activities in your life, you can step back and remember to enjoy life.

Maple Bourbon Seafoam

Anyway, here’s your recipe. Enjoy :)

Maple-Bourbon Seafoam Candy (adapted from Honeycomb Candy)

Makes approximately a cookie pan-sized sheet of candy (before breaking up)

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 Tb real maple syrup
  • 2 Tb bourbon whiskey
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  1. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil.
  2. Affix a candy thermometer to a large saucepan. It’s important to use a large saucepan as the mixture will bubble and expand quite a bit.
  3. Add sugar, maple syrup, and whiskey over high heat.
  4. Cook, without stirring, until sugar mixture reaches 300°F.
  5. When the temperature reaches 300°F, remove the pan from heat and whisk the baking soda into the hot syrup. This will cause the syrup to foam up a lot
  6. Stir just enough to mix the ingredients, then dump the mixture onto line baking sheet. Don’t over-mix and don’t spread out the candy, as this would pop your bubbles.
  7. Allow the candy to cool, then break in to pieces.
